Brookfield High School basketball players, from left, Donovan Pawlowski, Isaiah Jones and Matteo Fortuna check out their conference championship T-shirts.

Brookfield High School basketball players, from left, Donovan Pawlowski, Isaiah Jones and Matteo Fortuna check out their conference championship T-shirts.

Brookfield High School honored its winter sports athletes at a banquet March 2.


Cheerleaders who were awarded letters were: McKyah Graybill, Laney Miller and Zoe Steele, seniors; Cadence Huffman, Reanna Reardon and Lillie Toth, juniors; and Gia Franz, sophomore.

McKyah, Laney and Zoe are senior scholar athletes for maintaining a grade point average of at least 3.0.

Boys bowling

The bowling team qualified for the district tournament this year, and Cameron Neely was a Mahoning Valley Athletic Conference 2nd Team honoree.

Letter winners were: Zach Harden, Cameron, Bill McAnany and Austin Stewart, seniors; Zach Miller, junior, and Cody Thompson, freshman.

Zach Harden, Bill, Cameron and Austin are scholar athletes

Girls Bowling

Letter winners were Kaedie Roscoe and Kara Svarny, seniors; Emily Kasiewicz and Tara Thompson, juniors; and Evie Henkel and Isabella McFarland, sophomores.

Kaedie and Kara are senior scholar athletes.

Girls basketball

The team made it to the sectional game, and senior Sophia Hook completed her career with 1,561 points, the third most ever by a Brookfield girl or basketball player. 

Sophia also was Trumbull County Player of the Year, MVAC Player of the Year, 1st Team District, 1st  Team All Northeast Ohio and 3rd Team All State.

Letter winners were Sophia, Abby DeJoy, Katie Gibson, Mikenzie Jumper, Katie Logan and Madeline Pisarcik, seniors; Jasmine Hubbard and Cailey Wellman, juniors; and Madisyn Fisher and Mya Jumper, sophomores.

Cailey also was NEO 2nd Team and MVAC 1st Team.

Katie Logan was MVAC 1st Team.

McKenzie and Katie were MVAC 2nd Team.

Abby was MVAC honorable mention.

Abby, Katie Gibson, Sophia, Mikenzie, Katie Logan and Madeline are senior scholar athletes. 

Ken Forsythe was named coach of the year.

Boys basketball

The team tied for the conference championship, the team’s first conference championship since 1993, and were sectional champs, making it to the district semifinal game

Seniors Isaiah Jones and Donovan Pawlowski topped 1,000 points each for their careers, with Isaiah finishing at 1,211 and Donovan at 1,186.

Isaiah also was NEO 1st Team, All State special mention, MVAC Player of the Year and District 1st Team.

Donovan was NEO honorable mention and MVAC 1st Team.

Letters winners were: Isaiah, Donovan, Carter Creed and A.J. Bartolin, seniors; and Matteo Fortuna and Nevon Hoffman, juniors. 

Matteo also was NEO 2nd Team, All State honorable mention, MVAC 1st Team.

A.J. was MVAC 2nd Team.

Nevon was MVAC honorable mention.

A.J., Carter, Isaiah and Donovan are senior scholar athletes.

Shawn Hammond was named coach of the year.


Troy Randall was an MVAC 1st Team honoree, and won first place at 175 pounds in the MVAC League Wrestling Tournament.

Brayden Reed was a district qualifier.

Letter winners were: Mark Randall, senior; Lillian Davis, Troy and Brian Smith, juniors; Justin Calip, sophomore; and Ricky Blake, Jacob Hodge and Brayden, freshmen.

Mark is a senior scholar athlete.


Hays Montgomery was a district qualifier in the 100- and 200-yard freestyle.

Letter winners were Hays and Sam Plyler, seniors; and Will Cleland, sophomore.

Sam and Hays are senior scholar athletes.